Weingut Piewald

  • slider2
  • weine2
  • keller1
  • weine4
  • weine5
  • weine6
  • piewald1

Vinea Wachau


Codex Wachau

Vinea Wachau


Wine is a natural product. Since a long time grapes grow in woods, on fields and terraces. But wine is also a cultural achievement, a highly sophisticated beverage developed by mankind. Its essential significance is deeply rooted in history and tradition and its processing was frequently subject of new ideas and modification. Especially in the last few decades the vineyard and cellar work changed dramatically. Wine got increasingly industrialised while the technological progress was amazing. The CODEX WACHAU, a charter conceived by the Vinea Wachau, an association of Wachau winemakers, guarantees the consumer a natural, not manipulated product. The members of the organisation, among them also me, commit themselves:

  • to vinify only grapes that grow in the Wachau
  • to not chaptalize and concentrate their wines
  • to not flavour their wines
  • to harvest by hand


Steinfeder


The flyweight among the three-stage hierarchy of the Wachau weight-categories. The maximum alcohol content is 11, 5%. It is mostly produced as a young-to-drink-wine. Steinfeder are a rare exception in my program and are just produced in very cool years and even then physiological ripeness has to be reached.


Federspiele combine fruit and freshness, vitality and character and represent their origin. They are the golden mean, the welterweight among Wachau wines. Its name derives from the prey-dummies of falconers, a hobby-horse which was once popular in the region. Enologically they are much more than a delicate alternative to the Smaragd category, Wachau’s highest ranked wines. If they are vinified meticulously, Federspiele mature as well as their big brothers. It is obligatory that they are produced in a dry style and the alcohol content has to be between 12,00 and 12,99%. These requirements mostly provide fresh wines with a vivid texture and a compact body. They are ideal everyday wines which accompany a lot of different food.


Smaragd


The heavy weight among the Wachau wines, but one with a lot of muscles and power instead of opulence and ampleness. The preconditions therefore are quite well in the Spitzer Graben. The climate is generally harsher than a few kilometres further at the Danube, the winds are cooler and the difference between day and night is bigger. Additionally the wines are maturing on even higher terraces where the vegetation period is a week or two longer. Wines in the Smaragd category have more than 12,5% alcohol and they are usually the peak of the Wachau quality system. In an ideal case they are complex, concentrated, dense, elegant, compact and persistent wines with a long live ahead of them.

Weingut Piewald

  • slider2
  • weine2
  • keller1
  • weine4
  • weine5
  • weine6
  • piewald1

Vinea Wachau


Codex Wachau

Vinea Wachau


Wein ist ein Naturprodukt. Seit ewigen Zeiten wachsen Trauben in Wäldern, Feldern und Terrassen. Wein ist aber auch ein Kulturprodukt, ein von Menschen entwickeltes und geprägtes Getränk, dessen elementare Bedeutung tief in die Geschichte zurückreicht und dessen Verarbeitung immer wieder, und meist sehr langsamen Wandlungen unterworfen war. Gerade in den letzten Jahrzehnten veränderte sich die Arbeit im Garten und Keller aufs Neue. Wein industrialisierte und technologisierte sich. Der CODEX WACHAU, eine von der Vinea Wachau erarbeitete Charta, garantiert den Konsumenten ein naturbelassenes, weitgehend unmanipuliertes Produkt. Die Mitglieder der Vinea Wachau, darunter auch ich, verpflichten sich:

  • Wein ausschließlich aus dem Anbaugebiet der Wachau zu keltern
  • ihre Weine weder zu chaptalisieren, noch zu konzentrieren
  • ihre Weine nicht zu aromatisieren
  • die Trauben per Hand zu lesen


Steinfeder


Das Fliegengewicht in der dreistufigen Hierarchie der Wachau Gewichtsklassen. Darf maximal 11,9% Alkohol haben und ist meistens als Jungwein konzipiert. Steinfedern gibt es bei mir nur in ausnehmend kühlen Jahren und selbst dann nur, wenn wirklich perfekte physiologische Reife erreicht ist.


Federspiele kombinieren Frucht und Frische, Vitalität und Charakter und erzählen zudem von ihrer Herkunft. Sie sind die goldene Mitte, das Weltergewicht unter den Wachauer Weinen, dessen Name von der Beuteattrappe des Falkners entliehen wurde. Kurz: sie sind vielmehr als die filigrane Alternative zu den Smaragden und sind sie akribisch vinifiziert, reifen sie ähnlich gut wie ihre großen Brüder. Federspiele müssen stets trocken ausgebaut werden, haben zwischen 12,00 und 12,99% Alkohol und meistens eine frische und lebendige Textur in einem durchaus kompakten Körper. Das macht sie nicht nur zu perfekten Begleitern durch alle vier Jahreszeiten sondern auch fast immer zu idealen Essensbegleitern.


Smaragd


Das Schwergewicht unter den Wachauer Kategorien, doch möglichst eines, das muskelbepackt und kraftvoll, statt üppig und fett daherkommt. Die Voraussetzungen dafür sind im Spitzer Graben nicht schlecht. Das Klima ist im Allgemeinen etwas härter als draußen an der Donau, die Winde sind kühler, der Tag-Nacht Unterschied ist größer. Zudem reifen die Trauben höher oben und die Vegetationsphase ist länger, wodurch die Beeren nicht nur zusätzlich Extrakte einlagern können, sondern auch an Struktur gewinnen. Smaragde haben mehr als 12,5% Alkohol und sind, wenn alles glatt läuft, der Zenit im Wachauer Qualitätsdenken. Sie sind im Idealfall nuanciert, komplex, dicht, konzentriert, elegant, kompakt, lang und langlebig.